top of page

The Beginning

“Food is our common ground, a universal experience.” - James Beard

If James Beard was alive today I would thank him for his enormous contribution to American cookery and then ask him if he considered the people that have food allergies when he expressed this famous quote.

Food is our universal experience. Yes it is.....

Except if your allergies, intolerances or sensitive digestive tract requires you to eat a modified diet. Then your on your own. Either refusing delicious smelling meals and watching others enjoy them at restaurants and parties OR mostly eating at home in the safety of your own kitchen.

Welcome to my world.

I have suffered with digestion and gastrointestinal issues for as long as I can remember. I am gluten, wheat and dairy free. I don’t tolerate sugars well, so I follow the FODMAPS lifestyle diet and eat sugar free as much as reasonably possible. I am onion intolerant, struggle with digesting legumes and red meat so lastly, but most importably I get to choose to eat meat free.

I know all to well what it feels like to see others enjoying meals and having to politely refuse service due to my digestion issues. It sucks. It sucks so badly that over the years I have cried and cried my eyes out wondering why I inherited all the family gastrointestinal issues. Why me?!

Food intolerances and gastrointestinal issues is becoming more commonplace in society. I have met numerous people struggling with the same feelings of social rejection and disempowerment from food that I had. The most common question I am asked is a sorrowful “how do you do it?”

Then this year I realised a beautiful thing. I have been cooking and preparing “special” meals for myself of so long that it is just second nature to me now. I have so much knowledge and understanding to share!

What I once believed was my life long burden has actually become my gift. If you have issues with food and feel isolated, it’s ok. I get it :-)

And let me be the one to tell you, there is a common ground that includes both food, friends and becomes a positive experience. It just takes a little forward planning and experimenting.

So welcome to my kitchen. A place for experimenting, learning and healing through food. A Prana Kitchen.

I look forward to sharing this journey with you.

Krystal :)

Meet the Cook

Hello and Welcome to ...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page