top of page

French Toast and Maple Ham - Gluten and Dairy Free

French Toast is a hearty, filling meal that reminds me of breakfast in bed on Mothers Day. It is so much more flavoursome than scrambled eggs on toast and just that little bit fancy.

I used to think it was just bread soaked in scrambled egg mix but the egg mixture never seemed to cook quite right? But after some experimenting and a visit from some Canadian friends I have started making this recipe. And it is Tops! Super easy and really, really tasty :)

This recipe is enough to comfortably fill one belly for breakfast or snack ;)

Ingredients

For French Toast

  • 2 Slices of Bread

  • 2 eggs

  • 1/2 Tea Sp Natvia sweetener

  • 1/2 Tea Sp Cinnamon

  • 1 Tea Sp Vanilla essence

  • 1/ Tea Sp Maple syrup

  • Coconut oil for cooking.

For Maple Ham

(Works well with Bacon too)

  • 4 slices of Ham

  • 1 Tea Sp Maple Syrup

  • 1/4 Tea Sp Nativa sweetener

  • 1/4 Tea Sp Vanilla essence

1. Crack the eggs into a flat dish large enough to lay your bread slices in.

2. Add the sweetener, cinnamon, vanilla essence and maple syrup to the eggs and whisk until all combined.

3. Place your 2 slices of bread in the egg mixture and allow to soak for 5-10 minuets.

4. Turn your bread over and allow to soak for a further 5-10 minuets.

Note: The bread is like a sponge soaking up all the eggy goodness. You can let is soak for as long as you like, but a longer soaking time gives a better end texture and flavour.

5. Whilst the bread is soaking, prepare the ham. Place the maple syrup, sweetener and vanilla essence in a small bowl and mix into a paste.

6. Add the ham and coat with the maple paste.

7. Oil the frypan with coconut oil and preheat it to a medium heat.

Note: You may use any oil to grease the pan. I just like the delicate flavour and aroma that coconut oil adds to the sweetness in this dish.

8. Arrange the bread and the ham in the frypan and cook until golden on both sides. This will take 5-8 minuets depending on your cooking equipment. You will only need to turn the bread once.

9. Serve the French Toast with the ham and a little drizzle of maple syrup over the toast and ham.

Egg White only Variation

I personally don't tolerate egg yolks very well. So I use this exact same method but I use egg whites only. It still tastes great and it is much easier on my digestion.

Gluten Free Bread Variation

My favourite gluten free bread is Pure Bread - Multigrain Farmhouse Loaf. I am not affiliated with them in any way. I have just tried every GF bread I could buy and most of them are pretty awful. Crumbly textures, overly salty and gummy like rubber.

Pure Bread is expensive at AU$5.50 for 12 slices but it has the most natural texture and flexibility like wheat breads that I could find. It is well worth a try.

I hope you enjoy my French Toast and Maple Ham recipe. Feel free to send feedback and let me know if you love this as much as my family does.

Krystal :)

Meet the Cook

Hello and Welcome to ...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page